DGD230 [5] – Packaging + Update

On Monday’s class this week I wasn’t able to go but I’ve been filled in on what we did which was looking at packaging. Everyone made an Illustrator file with a cube packaging template (shown below) and to find examples of packaging that we like. Although I still don’t completely understand all this packaging information, this was a great learning experience for creating my own.

Packaging itself is one of the most important things for a brand to consider, I know if I see something with nice packaging that appeals to me I’d rather purchase that product over something that’s bland. Thursday’s lesson is when were asked to find our favourite examples of packaging, we were recommended to check out http://www.thedieline.com/ and http://www.packagingoftheworld.com/ to help with this or gather inspiration for our own work.

  • Nutella Unica

nutella-unica-packaging-design-products-_dezeen_hero-edit-2.jpg

‘An algorithm has usurped the traditional role of a designer to generate millions of unique packaging designs for Nutella. The algorithm pulled from a database of dozens of patterns and colours to create seven million different versions of Nutella’s graphic identity, which have been splashed across the front of jars in Italy.’

I love this packaging I think it’s unique and eye catching, it would not only appeal to people generally walking by but it also seems that it would be aimed towards kids. The bright colours and patterns really add interest to something that’s been very well known for a long time now, it makes it seem new and fresh, I’m sure everyone would have fun picking which one to purchase.

These were only available in Italy and sold out within the month (7 million jars were made).

I highly recommend you check out the following examples (linked below), these are two that really caught my eye, very unique and great packaging:

Famous_tea_1.jpg

Wayful Waffles (3).jpg

Lastly I’ve also just finished my first side project of the trimester which was acting headshots, after a bit of back and forth I got everything completed and the client was very happy. This was the first time I’ve ever done head shots or photography that’s more professional than creative, it was a great learning experience. I found the editing difficult because I had to keep it simple but still get the retouching and temperature of each photo right. Here are two examples of what was chosen:

Leave a Reply

