DGD230 [1a] – Advertising Campaigns + new work!

This week is the first week of DGD230 and in our first class we looked at advertising campaigns, each person showed one of their favourites as well as doing this blog post on a few different ones. For the one in class I chose the ‘#likeagirl’ campaign which is one I’ve seen around previously and one of my favourite ad campaigns I’ve seen.

I’ve found a local, national and international campaign from three different advertising agencies to show:

1. Local – BigfishBigfish, an agency located in Brisbane ran a campaign called ‘Come together Brisbane‘. They created this campaign to promote optimism in the community after the flooding in 2011, there’s a video on the campaign page of what they finished with. I like this campaign because it’s great to see the positive side of the city and community and it’s nice to go with positivity rather than dwell on it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 8.17.14 pm

 

2. National – Ogilvy Australia is an advertising agency located in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. They had multiple campaigns I was interested in but the one I landed on as most effective was their ‘Show your support‘ campaign with the national breast cancer foundation. The campaign ‘asks Australians to host a Pink Ribbon Breakfast to raise money for breast cancer research.’ I love this campaign in general and what they’re trying to achieve but I also love the typography used for advertising and how they used the ‘#ShowYourSupport’ on social media to bring even more attention to the cause.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 8.38.08 pm

3. International – Valenstein & Fatt, a design agency in London, created a campaign for Marks & Spencer called ‘Spend it Well‘. ‘Spend it Well’ is a call to action – designed to inspire and enable people to make every moment special by focusing on the quality experiences, people and things that really matter. The video created for this campaign was really creative and definitely got their message across, I really liked the video and the tagline summarises everything really well while still keeping it simple and clear.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 8.49.54 pm

This was really fun to do because it’s good seeing all the work that advertising agencies are creating/designing, there’a few I found a long the way that just re-assure me I’d love to work for a company after uni rather than freelance.

This week we also brainstormed ideas for our big creative project, I’m leaning towards doing branding for a food cart company or a waterfront bar, I have a list of ideas and pages of brainstorms to help me choose names so I should be clear on that by next week I hope.

Leave a comment