‘Secret Interview Techniques’

So, what are employers trying to find out in an interview? I will be focusing on the creative industries, mainly graphic design.

  • Personality types – employers need to know if you will fit with their store, if you are a person they want representing them. You may be asked some silly questions, one that always stuck with me as being particularly strange was ‘if you were a bird, what kind of bird would you be?” This question stumped me, I never thought I’d be asked that, nothing even close had popped into my head but even if they surprise you it’s all about being confident in yourself.

Example questions for a graphic designer (from the lecture):

  1. In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good graphic designer?
  2. What kind of design projects are you interested in?
  3. Tell me about a time that you had to work under pressure?
  4. Which software do you prefer to work with and why?
  5. What is your design process?
  6. Can I see your portfolio?

So these questions are not exactly secrets, being prepared to answer these is the first key step. Employers will be judging not only your response but how you react initially to the question. A portfolio for graphic design is probably one of the most important things you can bring to an interview so make sure your portfolio represents you.

‘By asking the right questions, you’ll show that you care and that will only impress the interviewer.’(Cowan, 2011) An article I found on how to succeed in job interviews had one of their points suggesting to research the company. This is also something I’ve done previously, I think it’s important to know what the employer will want but also to show them you have some initiative.

References:

Leave a Reply

