Inclusive Design

This week we spoke about inclusive design, I’ll be covering the key points of this lecture as well as talking about one point I can relate to myself personally, the key points are:

  1. Accessibility
  2. Race
  3. Gender & Sexuality
  4. Conflict Styles & Competition
  5. Conflict & Games
  6. Competition & Jobs
  7. Diverse Teams & Events

So inclusive design is not always something I’ve taken into account, it’s either something I would never think would be a problem or from not thinking about it at all. These points are very important to remember and I will make sure to keep them all in mind from now on.

‘But we can only create with what we know. And often we don’t take to the time to learn about others. This results in creative projects that are for certain people. Those certain people are a limited audience. This is where inclusive design comes in.’ (from lecture)

An example of something I haven’t taken into consideration when doing designs is disability, I’m not sure why it didn’t cross my mind, I guess because there’s no sounds or movement I always thought of it as very accessible. Visual impairment is something I should have tried to take into account, for people who are blind, colour blind or have low vision my designs aren’t accessible.

Design for people who are young, old, power users, casual users, and those who just enjoy a quality experience. (Hausler, 2015)

References:

Leave a Reply

